Recent News

EAS Faculty, Post Doc, and Grad Students Research Smoke from Wildfires

Faculty Member Chris Reinhard on Detecting signs of Life on Planets

EAS Awards Ceremony

EAS Faculty Member Britney Schmidt: Ceres Landslides

Jen Glass

Behind the Iron Curtain: How Methane-Making Microbes Kept the Early Earth Warm


Massive landslides, similar to those found on Earth, are occurring on the asteroid Ceres.


Particles that cover the surface of Saturn’s largest moon, Titan, are “electrically charged.”

Charon and Pluto

When Charon is positioned between the sun and Pluto, Georgia Tech research indicates that the moon can significantly reduce atmospheric loss.

The festival’s board of directors selected College of Sciences Dean and Sutherland Chair Paul M. Goldbart to serve as inaugural honorary chair.

When Amy Lynn Williamson moved to Georgia to attend Georgia Tech, it was the first time she had ever moved from Ohio, where most of her family lives. She completed her B.S. in Geosciences at Denison University, in Granville, a small town close to home. For Williamson, the move to Midtown Atlanta was a big step.