Recent News

Georgia Tech Leading in the Quest for Ocean Solutions

Learn how our researchers tackle some of the ocean’s biggest problems.

Artist rendering of early Earth (Photo credit: NASA)

A new study is taking the air out of a hypothesis linking early Earth’s oxygenation to larger, more complex organisms. Georgia Tech researchers report a more complex effect

Mediterranean Sea region (Credit: European Environment Agency)

An Earth and Atmospheric Sciences research team led by Annalisa Bracco is applying new technology to decades-old data to help with marine species preservation, and to better locate and define protected areas

Julia Kubanek

Julia Kubanek, professor of biological sciences and chemistry and biochemistry, and associate dean for Research in Georgia Tech’s College of Sciences, has been named vice president for Interdisciplinary Research, effective July 1.

Teaching Outdoors During the Coronavirus Pandemic

A total of 40 awards and honors for College of Sciences instructors, thanks to high rankings from annual student evaluations of faculty

Covid Mask Tested Fabric Samples

Georgia Tech researchers discuss findings of Covid-19 mask study, analyzing the filtration performance of commercially available materials.

Tech Tower in Early Spring

Students, staff, faculty, will lead a dozen projects focused on building communities of excellence, catalyzing discovery and solutions, and amplifying impact. Funded by the Sutherland Chair, the work aims to achieve goals in the College’s strategic plan.

Elbon shares that "the most fulfilling part of research, for myself, is that I get to learn something new every day."

Ocean Science & Engineering Ph.D. student Claire Elbon shares her research and experiences joining the Earth and Atmospheric Sciences community during Covid-19.

SURE Internships attracts qualified under-represented minority and women students into graduate school in the fields of engineering and science.

On and off Georgia Tech’s campus, there are countless opportunities for undergraduate students to gain practical skills, connections with industry leaders, and hands-on experience through research and internship opportunities.

Tyler Vollmer (right) skates with ice dance partner Breelie Taylor.

Grad student Tyler Vollmer heads to Las Vegas for Ice Dancing finals