Research Awards

Teaching & Service Awards


Faculty Research Awards

Fellowships in National and International Professional Societies

J. Lynch-Stieglitz, Fellow, American Association for the Advancement of Science, 2015 

P. Wine, Fellow, American Association for the Advancement of Science, 2015 

P. Wine, Fellow, International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry (IUPAC), 2014 

J. Dufek, Fellow, American Geophysical Union, 2012

Young Investigator and Early Career Awards

S. Ng, NSF CAREER Award, 2016 

S. Ng, Health Effects Institute Walter A. Rosenblith New Investigator Award, 2014 

S. Ng, Early Career Award, Environmental Protection Agency, 2013 

Y. Tang, Petroleum Research Fund Young Investigator Award, 2013 

B. Schmidt, NAWA Early Career Fellow, 2012 

J. Dufek, NSF Career Award, 2011 

Z. Peng, NSF Career Award, 2010

Back to top of page

Awards from Professional Societies or National/Intl Agencies

R. Black, Overall Winner of WxChallenge. Rob is the first person in the history of WxChallenge (since 2006) to be the cumulative top forecaster more than once; 1st Runner-Up among Faculty and Staff for Sandberg, CA; Faculty and Staff Top Forecaster for Durango, CO, 2016 

V. Toma, WxChallenge 1st Runner-Up among all forecasters for Fort Wayne, IN, 2016 

C. Huber, American Geophysical Union's Kuno Award, 2015 

C. Reinhard, Alfred P. Sloan Fellowship, 2015 

R. Weber, AGU Ascent Award, 2015 

P. Webster, invited to Halley Lectures, 2015 

P. Webster, AGU International Award, 2015 

J. Dufek, Kavli Frontiers of Science Fellow, National Academy of Sciences, 2014 

K. Ferrier, Canadian Institute for Advanced research, Global Scholar, 2013 

J. Wray, NASA Group Achievement Award: MSL SAM Science Team, 2013 

Z. Peng, Kavli Frontiers of Science Fellow, National Academy of Sciences, 2013

P. Webster, Mason Gold Medal, Royal Meteorological Society, 2012 

P. Webster, Mason Award, Royal Meteorological Society, 2012

J. Wray, NASA Group Achievement Award: HiRISE Science Team, 2011

Back to top of page

Recognition from Georgia Tech (or other home institution)

D. Hartley, Outstanding Undergraduate Academic Advising Award, 2016 

S. Ng, Sigma Xi Young Faculty Award, 2016 

P. Webster, Sigma Xi Sustained Research Award, 2016 

J. Kostka, 2014 College of Sciences Faculty Mentor Award, 2015 

A. Nenes, Faces of Inclusive Excellence, 2015 

A. Nenes, Faces of Inclusive Excellence, Georgia Institute of Technology, 2015 

J. Wray, Sigma Xi Young Faculty, 2015 

K. Cobb, Sigma Xi Best Faculty Paper Award, 2013 

J. Kostka, Georgia Power Professor of Excellence, 2013 

S. Liu, Georgia Power Professor of Escellence, 2013 

J. Dufek, College of Science Blanchard-Millikan Faculty Fellowship, 2012 

D. Hartley, COS Faculty Mentor Award, 2012 

A. Nenes, Outstanding Faculty Research Author Award, 2012 

J. Curry, Graetziner Moving School Forward Award, 2011 

S. Simon, Heinrich Bussing Award for Excellence as a Junior Scienctist (University of Braunschweig, Germany), 2010 

M. Zuluaga, Sigma Xi Best M.S. Thesis Award, 2010

EAS Awards

S. Wison, Judith Curry Award, 2021 

Z. Handlos, Judith Curry Award, 2020 

M. Grantham, Judith Curry Award, 2019 

A. Bracco, Judith Curry Award, 2018 

J. Glass, Judith Curry Award, 2016 

K. Cobb, Outstanding Undergraduate Research Mentor, 2010 

G. Huey, Outstanding Achievement in Research Innovation, 2010

Z. Peng, Young Faculty Award, 2010

M. Taillefert, Oustanding Faculty Leadership for the Development of Graduate Research Assistants, 2010 

Y. Wang, Outstanding Achievement in Research Program Development, 2010 

R. Weber, Outstanding Faculty Research Author, 2010


R. Black, Editorial Board, Journal of Climate 

Y. Deng, Associate Editor, Journal of Climate 

J. Lynch-Stieglitz, Associate Editor, Geochemistry, Geophysics, Geosystems 

J. Lynch-Stieglitz, Editorial Board, Earth and Planetary Science Letters 

J. Lynch-Stieglitz, Associate Editor, Paleoceanography 

J. Lynch-Stieglitz, Editor, Earth and Planetary Science Letters 

A. Nenes, Editor, Atmospheric Chemistry and Physics 

A. Newman, Guest Editor Special Issue, J. Volcanology and Geothermal Research 

Z. Peng, Editor in Chief of Seismological Research Letters, 2013 

I. Sokolik, Invited Editor, Special issue on SAMUM in Tellus 

I. Sokolik, Invited Editor, Special issue on NEESPI in J. Global and Environmental Change 

M. Taillefert, Associate Editor, Geochemical Transactions 

P. Wine, Senior Editor, Journal of Physical Chemistry 

P. Wine, Editorial Board, Advances in Physical Chemistry (online journal) 

Back to top of page


Graduate Student Awards



-Abigail Johnson, Glen Cass Award 

-Linghan Zeng, John Bradshaw Award 

-Louisa Barama, Graduate Student Service 

-Pan Liu, Research Excellence Award 

-Derrick Murekezi, Kurt Frankel Award 

-Kezhou "Melody" Lu, Douglas Davis Fellowship 



-Fabrizio Falasca and Hannes Arnold, Research Excellence Award 

-Aoxing Zhang, Glen Cass Award 

-Annika Jersild, Graduate Student Service Award 

-Young Ro Lee, Doug Davis Fellowship 



-Biao Wan, Research Excellence Award 

-Hannes Arnold, Best Paper Award 

-Taekyu Joo, Doug Davis Fellowship 

-Pan Liu, Glen Cass Award 

-Amanda Cavazos, John Bradshaw Award 

-Jacob Buffo, Kurt Frankel Award 

-Tiegan Hobbs, Special Recognition for Outstanding Service by an EAS Graduate Student 



-Hudson Cross, Rutt Bridges Award 

-Alexandra Sitar, Rutt Bridges Award 

-Lily Sandler, Rutt Bridges Award 

-Yufei Zou, Glen Cass Award 

-Arnaldo Negron, John Bradshaw Award 

-Jacob Buffo, Research Excellence Award 

-Lucas Liuzzo, Best Paper Lucas Award 

-Justin Lawrence, Kurt Frankel Award 



-Hongyuo Guo, Glen Cass Award 

-Tiegan Hobbs, Kurt Frankel Award 

-Ting Fang, John Bradshaw Award 



-Jacob Buffo, NSF East Asia and Pacific Summer Institute (EAPSI) fellowships 

-Amanda Cavazos, 2nd place best talk award, 3rd Annual Southeastern Biogeochemistry Symposium 

-Emily Christ, 1st place PhD Student Paper Contest at the Cotton Agronomy and Physiology Conference  

-Tiegan Hobbs, NSERC PGS-D award (like Canadian NSF) Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada: Post Graduate Doctoral fellowship 

-Zefeng Li, Kurt Frankel Award 

-Amelia Longo, Glen Cass Award 

-Amelia Longo, Graduate Student Award in Environmental Chemistry from the American Chemical Society 

-George McDonald, Kavli Summer Astrophysics Fellow (2016) 

-Luju Ojha, Best Paper Award

 -Samantha Waters, Best Talk, 2nd Annual Postdoctoral Research Symposium at GaTech 

 -Amy Williamson, NSF East Asia and Pacific Summer Institute (EAPSI) fellowships 

 -Yuzhong Zhang, Research Excellence Award

Back to top of page


Undergraduate Student Awards



-Bruno Rodriguez, WxChallenge Junior/Senior Top Forecaster for Durango, CO 

-Riannon Colton, Rutt Bridges Award 

-Luis Cortes, Rutt Bridges Award 

-Melat Hagos, Rutt Bridges Award 

-Namrata Kolla, Quarter Century Award 

-Sarah Schulte, WxChallenge Overall Category and Junior/Senior Top Forecaster for Long Island, NY 

-Katie Tokos, Rutt Bridges Award


Georgia Tech Teaching & Service Awards


D. Hartley, G.Wayne Clough Friend of the Student Award, 2015 

C. Huber, 2015 Class of 1940 Course Survey Teaching Effectiveness Award, 2015 

E. Ingall, CETL Faculty Award for Academic Outreach, 2015 

A. Newman, Judith Curry Award, 2015 

D. Hartley, GT1000 Instructor of the Year, 2014 

V. Toma, GT1000 Instructor of the Year, 2014 

E. Di Lorenzo, Class of 1964 Teaching Award, 2012 

E. Di Lorenzo, Junior Faculty Teaching Excellence, 2007

Back to top of page